Straits Kitchen

4/5 PickyRatings

This restaurant is located in the Grand Hyatt Singapore on the famous Scotts Road.  I just found out that the dress code is smart casual, but I don’t think it matters.

Entrance

Entrance

This buffet, even though it is rated 4 PickyRatings, is actually really good.  It is my dad’s favorite.  You can eat many types of Asian food there, and every dish you eat will be good.  In this post, I’ll point out the good things I ate.

Wonton/ chicken noodle soup: The reason why I called it that was because they literally put wonton, noodles, and chicken broth (not cannned) together to make this soup.  It is so good.  It has a very authentic chicken broth flavor, the noodles are soft and round, and the wontons are delicious.  If you love wonton and chicken noodle soup, you should definitely try this!

DSC_0340

You can also see them make your soup.  They used all natural ingredients, so don’t worry.

The chefs making my wonton soup

The chef making my wonton soup

Satays:  Not surprisingly, they also make good satays (Singapore is heavily influenced by Malaysia).  Add some satay sauce to your satay.  It’ll make it spicy, but without the spice (or the sauce), it is lacking in flavor.  The beef satay and the pork satay are my favorites.  The chicken satay wasn’t good- who wants to dip chicken in satay sauce anyways?

A beef satay not dipped in sauce yet

A beef satay not dipped in sauce yet

Soy sauce chicken: Speaking of chicken, you should try some soy sauce chicken if you want to try the Chinese food there.  It is very rich in flavor, although the meat is a little mushy (I think that’s how you cook it though).

My soy sauce chicken nearly enshrouded by rice

My soy sauce chicken nearly enshrouded by rice

Sadly (and strangely too), you can’t find any common ice cream flavors there at the ice cream booth (I mean strawberry, chocolate etc.).  They only have exotic flavors such as durian, and papaya.  But that’s what makes this place special.  I got some type of lemon sherbet.  It had a really tangy lemon flavor.

What a short spoon inside the bowl...

What a short spoon inside the bowl…

My pictures look so good…wait, what?  Oh yeah, I was writing a post…let’s get back to it…

ahem…

So come try out this place.  For people who like Southeast Asian cuisine, it will be a meal to remember.

Website: http://www.singapore.grand.hyattrestaurants.com/straitskitchen/

Grand Hyatt Singapore website: http://singapore.grand.hyatt.com/en/hotel/home.html

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Straits Kitchen

Leave a Reply

